Quick Veggie Chilli, Sausage and Cornbread

This is a great meal to make on a cold day!

Start with the chili:
2 zucchini chopped into 1 inch pieces
1 white onion chopped
2 celery stalks
1 can Great Northern Beans
1 can Diced tomatoes (un-drained)

1. Saute onion and celery to soften a bit
2. Pile everything into a crock pot and cook on high for 2.5 hours (my crock pot runs hot, so I cooked on high for 1 hour and on low for the remainder)

Cornbread
I baked this according to this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/golden-sweet-cornbread/
It was super easy and my daughter loved helping. I didn’t even adjust it to high altitude, though that might make it a bit more moist (I got no complaints).

To Serve:
I served with Basil Chicken sausage which I par-boiled (boiled 10 min, grilled 20 min), but it would be quicker to use already baked sausage. Serve in the chilli or along the side!
I also topped the chili with a spoonful of sour cream and some shredded sharp cheddar cheese.

Guten Appetit!

Living Large in the Middle,

Heather

Leave a Reply

